Scoring Senket is Hard, pt. II

In the first post on scoring senket I described how I proposed to do it and posted an example board with territories appropriately identified.

I spoke too soon.

Now that I think about the example below, I’m not sure the rules cover this. Granted it would be exceptionally unlikely for this to come up in an actual game, I don’t see how the rule applies: “Territory is any region of the board your fences surround that does not contain any territory of your opponent. ” By that definition, the larger Blue fence makes territory of everything above and to the right of it, while the larger Red fence makes territory of everything below and to the left of it. Both those conditions can’t apply.

Blue should own everything in the upper right corner.

How should this be scored?

 

And here’s the pathological case: who scored what here?

 

My head hurts...

My head hurts...

The only sure thing is that Red has a point in the upper left, and Blue has a point in the lower right.

Leave a Reply

